Kit vs Moosend
Both are on our shortlist for course creators. They part company on a couple of things that matter more than the monthly price.
Which one, for whom
- A list already in the thousands
KitKit stays free to 10,000 subscribers against Moosend's nothing.Start free on Kit - Selling the course from the same tool
KitKit can take the payment itself, so you do not need a separate checkout.
Side by side
| Kit | Moosend | |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | 10,000 subscribers | None |
| Free sends | Unlimited broadcasts | 30-day trial only |
| Welcome sequence on free | No | No |
| Connects to Teachable | Direct | Not listed |
| Connects to Kajabi | Direct | Not listed |
| Connects to Podia | Direct | Not listed |
| Connects to Thinkific | Direct | Not listed |
| Paid from | $33/mo | $7/mo |
| The catch | Digital product sales carry a 3.5% + 30c fee on every plan. | There is no permanent free plan, only a 30-day trial, so there is no way to park a list here without paying every month. |
| G2 score | 4.4 out of 5, from 236 reviews | 4.6 out of 5, from 744 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 4.1 out of 5, from 154 reviews | 2.8 out of 5, from 83 reviews |
Figures read off each vendor's own pricing page between 9 and 24 September 2026. Where a row says not published, that vendor does not state a price at that list size and we will not invent one.
The last two rows are other people's scores, not ours, read on 6 September 2026. Check them yourself:Kit on G2, Kit on Trustpilot, Moosend on G2, Moosend on Trustpilot.
- Moosend: Reviewers disagree about this one. It scores 4.6 on G2 and 2.8 on Trustpilot. Read a page of each before you decide, because one of those audiences is having a different experience to the other.
- Moosend: The Trustpilot score rests on 83 reviews, which is a small enough number that a handful of unhappy or delighted people can move it.
Getting your list back out
Kit
Deleting the account is self-serve and takes 24 to 48 hours. Export first: their help page says all data is permanently deleted, with no recovery window documented. Source
Moosend
Their pricing page says that when a free trial ends your account and all your data stay intact, and you regain access as soon as you upgrade. Their terms and conditions (a PDF linked from their legal page) add two things the pricing page does not mention: a paid subscription is non-cancelable and non-refundable once paid, and it automatically renews for another term unless either side gives written notice at least 60 days before the current term ends. What happens to a list on an ordinary cancellation, short of a breach or non-payment, is still not stated. Source
Kit vs Moosend, answered
- Is Kit or Moosend better for an online course?
- Neither is better outright, and anyone who says so is guessing on your behalf. Kit if you are a list already in the thousands. Kit if you are selling the course from the same tool.
- Which of Kit and Moosend has the better free plan?
- Kit allows more free subscribers (10,000 against none). A bigger allowance is not automatically the better plan: check the welcome sequence row above, because that is where the two usually part company.
- Can I move from Kit to Moosend later?
- Yes, and you should assume you will. Export your list before you cancel anything, and keep whatever marks who bought from you. We wrote the whole running order up separately.
Try either one
Biggest free list, sells products out of the box
$33/mopaid plans start here. Free up to 10,000. Read off their pricing page between 9 and 24 September 2026.
Start free on KitRead the full Kit breakdownCheap once you pay, but nothing is free
$7/mopaid plans start here. No free plan. Read off their pricing page between 9 and 24 September 2026.
See Moosend pricingRead the full Moosend breakdownMoving between them? Read the switching guide first, or answer 5 questions to check neither of these is the wrong shortlist.
Neither of these? See all 14, including which ones connect straight to Teachable, Kajabi, Podia or Thinkific, or compare what they cost as your list grows.