All 9, and what each really costs

Ordered by how useful the free plan actually is, not by what any of them pay us. Every figure came off the vendor's own pricing page on 5 September 2026, and where a plan has a catch, the catch is in the row.

We earn a commission on some of these links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the ranking. How we test.

Sender

The most generous free plan we found

2,500 free subscribers, 15,000 free emails a month, and automation included at no cost. Almost nobody offers all three.

Free plan
2,500
15,000 emails/mo
Welcome sequence, free
Yes
Email automation is listed on the free plan
Paid from
$7/mo
Standard, up to 1,000 subscribers

Watch out A smaller name with a smaller integration list. Check it connects to your course platform before you commit.

We may earn a commission on this link. It never affects the ranking.

Start free on Sender Read the full Sender breakdown

Omnisend

Only if you also ship physical products

Built for online stores rather than courses. Worth it when the course sits next to a Shopify catalog.

Free plan
250
500 emails/mo
Welcome sequence, free
Yes
Automation included, but 500 sends is tight
Paid from
$11.20/mo
Standard, at 1,001-1,500 contacts

Watch out 500 free emails a month is roughly 2 sends to a 250-person list.

We may earn a commission on this link. It never affects the ranking.

Start free on Omnisend Read the full Omnisend breakdown

EmailOctopus

Cheapest way to run a plain list

2,500 free subscribers and 10,000 free emails a month, then a flat low price. Deliberately simple rather than full featured.

Free plan
2,500
10,000 emails/mo
Welcome sequence, free
Not confirmed
Their pricing page does not say, and we have not confirmed it
Paid from
$9/mo
Pro, billed yearly; subscriber tier not stated

Watch out Fewer features than the others by design. Good if you only need to send, thin if you need funnels.

We may earn a commission on this link. It never affects the ranking.

Start free on EmailOctopus Read the full EmailOctopus breakdown

Systeme.io

Course hosting, funnels and email on one free plan

Hosts the course itself as well as the list, with unlimited emails free to 2,000 contacts and no transaction fee on sales.

Free plan
2,000
Unlimited emails
Welcome sequence, free
Not confirmed
Their pricing page does not state it and we have not confirmed it by hand
Paid from
$17/mo
Startup, 5,000 contacts

Watch out The free plan holds one course only, and takes 0% on sales, which is rare.

We may earn a commission on this link. It never affects the ranking.

Start free on Systeme.io Read the full Systeme.io breakdown

Kit

Biggest free list, sells products out of the box

10,000 free subscribers and built-in digital product checkout. But no automated sequences until you pay.

Free plan
10,000
Unlimited broadcasts
Welcome sequence, free
No
Sequences need the Creator plan
Paid from
$33/mo
Creator, at 1,000 subscribers

Watch out Digital product sales carry a 3.5% + 30c fee on every plan.

We may earn a commission on this link. It never affects the ranking.

Start free on Kit Read the full Kit breakdown

beehiiv

Best if the course sits beside a newsletter

2,500 free subscribers with unlimited sends, a custom domain and a website included at no cost.

Free plan
2,500
Unlimited sends
Welcome sequence, free
No
Automations need the Scale plan
Paid from
$43/mo
Scale, at 1,000 subscribers

Watch out No paid subscriptions or digital products on the free tier.

We may earn a commission on this link. It never affects the ranking.

Start free on beehiiv Read the full beehiiv breakdown

ActiveCampaign

Deepest automation, once the list pays for itself

The most capable automation builder of the five. There is no free tier at all, only a 14-day trial.

Free plan
None
14-day trial only
Welcome sequence, free
No
No free plan exists
Paid from
A$23/mo
Starter, billed annually; priced to us in AUD

Watch out Starter caps you at 5 actions per automation, which a real welcome sequence will hit.

We may earn a commission on this link. It never affects the ranking.

See ActiveCampaign pricing Read the full ActiveCampaign breakdown

GetResponse

Capable all-rounder, but nothing is free

Strong automation and landing pages in one place. We could not confirm any permanent free plan, only a trial.

Free plan
None confirmed
14-day trial only
Welcome sequence, free
No
No permanent free plan confirmed
Paid from
€16/mo
Starter, 1,000 contacts; priced to us in euros

Watch out We could not confirm a permanent free plan on their pricing page, only a 14-day trial.

We may earn a commission on this link. It never affects the ranking.

See GetResponse pricing Read the full GetResponse breakdown

What we haven't checked yet

These are on our list. We will not publish figures for a platform until we have read them off the vendor own page and can date them.

  • Brevo Their pricing page renders entirely in JavaScript, so we could not read the plan figures.
  • Constant Contact Their pricing page blocked our request repeatedly.
  • Moosend Prices sit behind an interactive slider we could not read reliably.
  • Flodesk Conflicting signals on whether the entry plan includes automation.
  • AWeber We could not confirm whether a permanent free plan still exists.
  • Mailchimp Listed for completeness. It runs no public affiliate program, so we have no reason to rank it here.

Narrow it down

Nine is too many to hold in your head. Four questions gets you to one, with the reasons it picked that one.