Kit vs Systeme.io

Both are on our shortlist for course creators. They part company on a couple of things that matter more than the monthly price.

Kit
Systeme.io

Which one, for whom

  • Starting out with no budgetSysteme.ioSysteme.io can run an automated welcome sequence on its free plan. Kit cannot, so a new subscriber hears nothing from you until you pay.Start free on Systeme.io
  • A list already in the thousandsKitKit stays free to 10,000 subscribers against Systeme.io's 2,000.Start free on Kit

Side by side

KitSysteme.io
Free plan10,000 subscribers2,000 subscribers
Free sendsUnlimited broadcastsUnlimited emails
Welcome sequence on freeNoYes
Connects to TeachableDirectSells courses itself
Connects to KajabiDirectSells courses itself
Connects to PodiaDirectSells courses itself
Connects to ThinkificDirectSells courses itself
Paid from$33/mo$17/mo
At 5,000 subscribersNot published$17
At 25,000 subscribersNot published$97
The catchDigital product sales carry a 3.5% + 30c fee on every plan.The free plan holds one course only, and takes 0% on sales, which is rare.
G2 score4.4 out of 5, from 236 reviews4.8 out of 5, from 750 reviews
Trustpilot score4.1 out of 5, from 154 reviews4.9 out of 5, from 8,448 reviews

Figures read off each vendor's own pricing page between 9 and 24 September 2026. Where a row says not published, that vendor does not state a price at that list size and we will not invent one.

The last two rows are other people's scores, not ours, read on 6 September 2026. Check them yourself:Kit on G2, Kit on Trustpilot, Systeme.io on G2, Systeme.io on Trustpilot.

Getting your list back out

Kit

Deleting the account is self-serve and takes 24 to 48 hours. Export first: their help page says all data is permanently deleted, with no recovery window documented. Source

Systeme.io

You can export contacts to CSV yourself at any time. Cancelling does not take effect immediately: it stops the subscription from renewing, and you keep access until the end of the current billing period, at which point the plan is removed automatically. Their terms and conditions add that subscription plans are non-refundable, and that an account can be banned without notice for a content-policy violation. What happens to stored data after a cancellation takes effect is not stated. Source

Kit vs Systeme.io, answered

Is Kit or Systeme.io better for an online course?
Neither is better outright, and anyone who says so is guessing on your behalf. Systeme.io if you are starting out with no budget. Kit if you are a list already in the thousands.
Which of Kit and Systeme.io has the better free plan?
Kit allows more free subscribers (10,000 against 2,000). A bigger allowance is not automatically the better plan: check the welcome sequence row above, because that is where the two usually part company.
Can I move from Kit to Systeme.io later?
Yes, and you should assume you will. Export your list before you cancel anything, and keep whatever marks who bought from you. We wrote the whole running order up separately.

Try either one

Kit

Biggest free list, sells products out of the box

$33/mopaid plans start here. Free up to 10,000. Read off their pricing page between 9 and 24 September 2026.

Start free on KitRead the full Kit breakdown
Systeme.io

Course hosting, funnels and email on one free plan

$17/mopaid plans start here. Free up to 2,000. Read off their pricing page between 9 and 24 September 2026.

Start free on Systeme.ioRead the full Systeme.io breakdown

Moving between them? Read the switching guide first, or answer 5 questions to check neither of these is the wrong shortlist.

Neither of these? See all 14, including which ones connect straight to Teachable, Kajabi, Podia or Thinkific, or compare what they cost as your list grows.