MailerLite vs Moosend

Both are on our shortlist for course creators. They part company on a couple of things that matter more than the monthly price.

MailerLite
Moosend

Which one, for whom

  • Starting out with no budgetMailerLiteMailerLite can run an automated welcome sequence on its free plan. Moosend cannot, so a new subscriber hears nothing from you until you pay.Start free on MailerLite
  • Selling the course from the same toolMailerLiteMailerLite can take the payment itself, so you do not need a separate checkout.

Side by side

MailerLiteMoosend
Free plan250 subscribersNone
Free sends2,500 emails/mo30-day trial only
Welcome sequence on freeYesNo
Connects to TeachableNot listedNot listed
Connects to KajabiDirectNot listed
Connects to PodiaNot listedNot listed
Connects to ThinkificDirectNot listed
Paid from$12/mo$7/mo
At 5,000 subscribers$44.10Not published
At 25,000 subscribers$161.10Not published
The catchTheir logo stays on your emails until you pay.There is no permanent free plan, only a 30-day trial, so there is no way to park a list here without paying every month.
G2 score4.6 out of 5, from 1,113 reviews4.6 out of 5, from 744 reviews
Trustpilot score4.1 out of 5, from 3,281 reviews2.8 out of 5, from 83 reviews

Figures read off each vendor's own pricing page on 9 September 2026. Where a row says not published, that vendor does not state a price at that list size and we will not invent one.

The last two rows are other people's scores, not ours, read on 6 September 2026. Check them yourself:MailerLite on G2, MailerLite on Trustpilot, Moosend on G2, Moosend on Trustpilot.

  • Moosend: Reviewers disagree about this one. It scores 4.6 on G2 and 2.8 on Trustpilot. Read a page of each before you decide, because one of those audiences is having a different experience to the other.
  • Moosend: The Trustpilot score rests on 83 reviews, which is a small enough number that a handful of unhappy or delighted people can move it.

Getting your list back out

MailerLite

Cancel any time without penalty. Their terms describe still being able to log in, export and migrate your data after a plan lapses. Source

Moosend

Their pricing page says that when a free trial ends your account and all your data stay intact, and you regain access as soon as you upgrade. Their terms and conditions (a PDF linked from their legal page) add two things the pricing page does not mention: a paid subscription is non-cancelable and non-refundable once paid, and it automatically renews for another term unless either side gives written notice at least 60 days before the current term ends. What happens to a list on an ordinary cancellation, short of a breach or non-payment, is still not stated. Source

MailerLite vs Moosend, answered

Is MailerLite or Moosend better for an online course?
Neither is better outright, and anyone who says so is guessing on your behalf. MailerLite if you are starting out with no budget. MailerLite if you are selling the course from the same tool.
Which of MailerLite and Moosend has the better free plan?
MailerLite allows more free subscribers (250 against none). A bigger allowance is not automatically the better plan: check the welcome sequence row above, because that is where the two usually part company.
Can I move from MailerLite to Moosend later?
Yes, and you should assume you will. Export your list before you cancel anything, and keep whatever marks who bought from you. We wrote the whole running order up separately.

Try either one

MailerLite

Best free plan for a real welcome sequence

$12/mopaid plans start here. Free up to 250. Read off their pricing page on 9 September 2026.

Start free on MailerLiteRead the full MailerLite breakdown
Moosend

Cheap once you pay, but nothing is free

$7/mopaid plans start here. No free plan. Read off their pricing page on 9 September 2026.

See Moosend pricingRead the full Moosend breakdown

Moving between them? Read the switching guide first, or answer 5 questions to check neither of these is the wrong shortlist.

Neither of these? See all 14, including which ones connect straight to Teachable, Kajabi, Podia or Thinkific, or compare what they cost as your list grows.