Moosend vs Omnisend
Both are on our shortlist for course creators. They part company on a couple of things that matter more than the monthly price.
Which one, for whom
- Starting out with no budget
OmnisendOmnisend can run an automated welcome sequence on its free plan. Moosend cannot, so a new subscriber hears nothing from you until you pay.Start free on Omnisend
- Worried about being locked in
OmnisendOmnisend keeps your subscribers and automations when you cancel, rather than deleting them.
Side by side
| Moosend | Omnisend | |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | None | 250 subscribers |
| Free sends | 30-day trial only | 500 emails/mo |
| Welcome sequence on free | No | Yes |
| Connects to Teachable | Not listed | Not listed |
| Connects to Kajabi | Not listed | Not listed |
| Connects to Podia | Not listed | Not listed |
| Connects to Thinkific | Not listed | Not listed |
| Paid from | $7/mo | $11.20/mo |
| The catch | There is no permanent free plan, only a 30-day trial, so there is no way to park a list here without paying every month. | 500 free emails a month is roughly 2 sends to a 250-person list. |
| G2 score | 4.6 out of 5, from 744 reviews | 4.6 out of 5, from 1,246 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 2.8 out of 5, from 83 reviews | 4.4 out of 5, from 506 reviews |
Figures read off each vendor's own pricing page on 9 September 2026. Where a row says not published, that vendor does not state a price at that list size and we will not invent one.
The last two rows are other people's scores, not ours, read on 6 September 2026. Check them yourself:Moosend on G2, Moosend on Trustpilot, Omnisend on G2, Omnisend on Trustpilot.
- Moosend: Reviewers disagree about this one. It scores 4.6 on G2 and 2.8 on Trustpilot. Read a page of each before you decide, because one of those audiences is having a different experience to the other.
- Moosend: The Trustpilot score rests on 83 reviews, which is a small enough number that a handful of unhappy or delighted people can move it.
Getting your list back out
Moosend
Their pricing page says that when a free trial ends your account and all your data stay intact, and you regain access as soon as you upgrade. Their terms and conditions (a PDF linked from their legal page) add two things the pricing page does not mention: a paid subscription is non-cancelable and non-refundable once paid, and it automatically renews for another term unless either side gives written notice at least 60 days before the current term ends. What happens to a list on an ordinary cancellation, short of a breach or non-payment, is still not stated. Source
OmnisendEasy to leave
Cancelling a paid plan does not delete anything by itself: their help centre says you drop to the free plan and your contacts, campaigns and reports "remain accessible in read-only mode." The real risk is inactivity rather than cancellation: an account with no login for several months can be treated as inactive and permanently deleted, and a deliberate account deletion is instant and irreversible. Export your list if you plan to leave the account untouched for a while. Source
Moosend vs Omnisend, answered
- Is Moosend or Omnisend better for an online course?
- Neither is better outright, and anyone who says so is guessing on your behalf. Omnisend if you are starting out with no budget. Omnisend if you are worried about being locked in.
- Which of Moosend and Omnisend has the better free plan?
- Omnisend allows more free subscribers (250 against none). A bigger allowance is not automatically the better plan: check the welcome sequence row above, because that is where the two usually part company.
- Can I move from Moosend to Omnisend later?
- Yes, and you should assume you will. Export your list before you cancel anything, and keep whatever marks who bought from you. We wrote the whole running order up separately.
Try either one
Cheap once you pay, but nothing is free
$7/mopaid plans start here. No free plan. Read off their pricing page on 9 September 2026.
See Moosend pricingRead the full Moosend breakdownOnly if you also ship physical products
$11.20/mopaid plans start here. Free up to 250. Read off their pricing page on 9 September 2026.
Start free on OmnisendRead the full Omnisend breakdownMoving between them? Read the switching guide first, or answer 5 questions to check neither of these is the wrong shortlist.
Neither of these? See all 14, including which ones connect straight to Teachable, Kajabi, Podia or Thinkific, or compare what they cost as your list grows.